Honorary Professor

  • 2020 Reappointed as Vice Chancellor Universiti Teknologi Brunei (UTB)
  • 2018: Honorary Professor Swansea University
  • 2015: Vice Chancellor – Universiti Teknologi Brunei (UTB)
  • 2008: Meritorious Service Medal of ASEAN Science and Technology
  • 1996: Fellow ASAIHL

Professor Dr Dayang Zohrah binti Sulaiman began her career as a school teacher in 1988. A year later, she joined University Brunei Darussalam (UBD). She obtained PhD (Genetics) from the University of Southampton, UK in 1994. Professor Dr Zohrah was Deputy Vice-Chancellor at UBD when she joined University Technology Brunei as acting Vice Chancellor in November 2012. She was appointed as Vice chancellor on 1st January 2015. She spearheaded the transformation agenda of Universiti Teknologi Brunei (UTB), to be amongst the best 10 Universities of Engineering and Technology in Southeast Asia by 2018. The Vision of which was preceded in 2017 when UTB ranked 9 among universities of Engineering of Technology in Southeast Asia. This made UTB the youngest university, below 10 years of age, to be entered into the QS Asia University Rankings within the top 165. The same year, UTB debuted in the QS Star Rating, attaining 4 stars in Teaching, Employability, Internationalisation, Facilities, Social Responsibility, and Inclusiveness.

She was accorded the ASAIHL Fellow in 1996, the national nominee for the ASEAN Young Scientist and Technologist Award in 1998 and sat on various committees of ASEAN Committee on Science and Technology (ASEAN-COST in short) including as Chairman of the Advisory Board on ASEAN Plan of Action for Science and Technology (2006-2008), Chair (2011-2014) and national focal point (2002-2014) of the ASEAN-COST Sub-Committee on Biotechnology. In recognition of her contribution to ASEAN-COST, she was awarded the Meritorious Service Medal of ASEAN Science and Technology in July 2008. She is also a founding member of Asian Society of Ichthyologists (2014-). She serves as member of several national committees including Brunei Research Council, BDTVEC Council, National Accreditation Council and Knowledge Convention (Majlis Ilmu).

She had the opportunity to attend Senior Executive Fellow programme at Harvard Kennedy School (Harvard University, Boston) for 4 weeks in 2010 and WISE programme for Education Leadership, sponsored by Qatar Foundation in 2013.

Her research interests are on biodiversity, aquaculture, molecular phylogeny and biogeography of fishes. In 2006, she discovered 3 new species of Gastromyzon fish in the Temburong river with her co-researcher from National University of Singapore. She is an inventor on two patents involving biodiesel production from local paddy “Laila”. She taught genetics, population genetics and molecular genetics to UBD’s students from 1994-2013 and is now an adjunct academic staff at UBD since 2014.

She received four state honorary medals from His Majesty Sultan Haji Hassanal Bolkiah Mu’izzaddin Waddaulah ibni Al-Marhum Sultan Haji Omar ‘Ali Saifuddien Sa’adul Khairi Waddien, Sultan and Yang Di-Pertuan of Brunei Darussalam: PIKB medal in 2001, Bintang PSB in 2006, Bintang SMB in 2011 and Bintang SNB in 2017.

< Back to team