Honorary Fellow 2019

  • 2019: Honorary Fellow & DLit Swansea University, UK
  • 2018: Appointed as Foreign and Trade Minister (II) Brunei
  • 2017: Most Honourable Order of Seri Paduka Mahkota Brunei (First Class)
  • 2015: Deputy Minister of Foreign and Trade Ministry Brunei

He started Civil Service in 1989 as a Veterinary Chemist in the Ministry of Industry and Primary Resources. In 1991, he assumed the duties of Head of Unit for the Miscellaneous Crop Unit. Later in 1994, he undertook duties on ASEAN Agriculture Matters and became the focal point for ASEAN Ministers on Agriculture and Forestry (AMAF) Meetings.

He received his Combined Degree with Honours in Genetics and Biophysics from Leeds University, West Yorkshire in 1988 and MSc. in Genetics and Its Applications from University College Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom in 1991.

In 2005, he was transferred to the Department of International Trade at Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade and was involved in the Brunei-Japan Economic Partnership Agreement (BJEPA) negotiations and lead negotiator for Brunei Darussalam and Chairman for the ASEAN-Australia-New Zealand Free Trade Agreement (AANZFTA) until its completion in 2007.

In 2008, he was promoted to Deputy Permanent Secretary and within seven months of his promotion, He was then appointed as Permanent Secretary at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade of Brunei Darussalam in 2008.

He was previously ASEAN SOM Leader of Brunei Darussalam and he was also a former member of Board Directors of Brunei Shell Petroleum (BSP) & Liquefied Natural Gas (LNG) for Brunei Darussalam in 2008 and Brunei Gas Carrier (BGC), Brunei Shell Tank (BST) & Brunei Shell Marketing (BSM) in 2010.

On 22 October 2015, by command of His Majesty The Sultan and Yang Di-Pertuan of Brunei Darussalam, Dato Erywan was appointed as Deputy Minister at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade of Brunei Darussalam.

Dato Erywan is also currently appointed as Joint Deputy Chairman of the Brunei Strategy Council (BSC) with effect from November 2015 and Deputy Chairman of Brunei Economic Development Board (BEDB) in 2016.

< Back to team